I haven’t been here for a while!

I have been blogging on and off now for nearly 6 years, although it is probably true to say that it has been more off than on! I have come to the conclusion that you have to discipline yourself to write regularly; otherwise you may well not get around to it. There are distractions too. It is all too easy to spend time surfing the net, checking Facebook and Twitter, looking at news and sports stories etc.

The other thing is that I haven’t been to Carousel Creates for a while – until today that is. That is a lovely place of calm and quiet where you can go and spend time, without distraction, writing. I would get 3 or 4 posts ready, or at least planned while here.

I don’t know how many times I have written in the past “I am going to Blog more regularly”, or something similar, but somehow it has not always happened. It has been fine for a while, but then has tailed off. There were certain things, like the A to Z Challenge that I did last year (I know, I should be doing it again this year – it is this month actually!), writing about certain conferences and events, writing a few short meditations up to Christmas. These were all very useful to give a focus.
In the shorter term, as next week leads up to Easter, I will attempt to write something each day from tomorrow (which is Palm Sunday) right through to Easter Sunday. Perhaps that will kick start things.

Writing is like a lot of other things in life – easy to let slip. It’s the same when it comes to spending time with God; reading his Word and praying to him. It is easy to not do these things and suddenly some days later you realise – “I haven’t been spending time with the Lord.” We know, though, that we have a gracious Heavenly Father who longs to spend time with his children. We can always come back to him. Better sooner than later though – the more time we spend with him the greater the blessings.

I cannot guarantee how regular this Blog will be – I will not make promises that I cannot keep. Maybe, just maybe with a bit more discipline things will become more regular.

Leave a Reply

