The Weekly Hymn

There is a well known, but tragic story behind this week’s hymn. Horatio G. Spafford lost all 4 of his daughters in an accident at sea. He wrote the words in response a few weeks later after he passed the place where it had happened in his own ship. It is a hymn of trust and confidence in God that, whatever the circumstances, “it is well with my soul” for those who trust him.

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

It is well (It is well), with my soul (with my soul),
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

But, Lord, ‘tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
Oh trump of the angel! Oh voice of the Lord!
Blessèd hope, blessèd rest of my soul!

Horatio G. Spafford

2 thoughts on “The Weekly Hymn

  1. A timeless testimony of the strength of truth God brings to each life duly submitted to Him. He is the God of miracles, none of which are small. Bless you, friend. :0)

    Like

Leave a Reply

