The Blog Post I didn’t want to write

And the reason I didn’t want to write it is that I would much prefer to Blog about the real meaning of Christmas – the amazing incarnation of the Lord Jesus Christ as both God and Man. In fact, starting on Monday there will be a series of posts leading up to Christmas Day on that very theme.

Some of you will possibly not understand why I feel the need to write this, some of you may disagree, but here goes:

I am tired of the number of evangelicals I have read over the past couple of weeks who feel that they should instruct parents as to the approach to Santa Claus. And the advice has been overwhelmingly that Santa Claus is wrong and therefore children should under no circumstances be allowed to believe in him.

Let me give you my own experience (although it was a number of years ago now). My parents were Bible believing Christians who faithfully taught me that Christmas was all about the birth of the Lord Jesus Christ. There was never any suggestion that Christmas was about anything else. However, as a small boy they allowed belief in Santa Claus (or Father Christmas as we called him). A cup of tea and a mince pie would be left out for him on Christmas Eve. It was all part of being a child.

As I grew older, I came to realise that Santa was not true. BUT I did not feel that my parents had deceived me, it was just one of those things that was part of being a child. As you grew older, you stopped believing in certain things.

I can honestly say that believing in Santa in no way diminished the importance of Jesus’ birth. Neither (as some have suggested) do I think that my parents violated the 9th commandment.

I am not going to put links to these Blogs, you can find them easily enough if you look for them, but I would say one thing to those who have written. I respect the view that you have taken, and if you do not wish for your children to believe in Santa, that is fine. But PLEASE do not impose that upon all parents, nor seek to make them guilty for coming to a different decision. We do not have children, but if we did I am sure that both Annmarie and I would be more than happy for our children to believe in Santa. Most importantly, we would teach them about the true meaning of Christmas – the incarnation of Jesus.

And YES, you can do both.

4 thoughts on “The Blog Post I didn’t want to write

  1. We taught our kids the biblical account of Jesus in the manger. We also kept alive the idea of Father Christmas. They were kids, and even when they realised for themselves that perhaps a man in a red suit wouldn’t come down the chimney, they kept up the pretence because it was fun! We used the analogy of the gifts being given to draw out the true meaning of Christmas – Jesus, the greatest gift to mankind! (they’re twenty-somethings now and we STILL have to put out mincepies and sherry – and a carrot for Rudolph! ;-p)

    Like

Leave a Reply

