The Weekly Hymn

Here’s one that was written in two stages, with at least two versions of a later added refrain! There was also a Gospel version sung by the Edwin Hawkins Singers.

The original verses were written by Philip Doddridge in the 18th century. A refrain was added about 100 years later by Edward F. Rimbault. A new tune was written about 100 years after that with a slightly revised refrain! Here we have the latter version. Most importantly it is a hymn of testimony to what God has done for us:

O happy day, that fixed my choice
On Thee, my Savior and my God!
Well may this glowing heart rejoice,
And tell its raptures all abroad.

O Happy day,  O happy day, when Jesus washed my sins away!
He taught me how to watch and pray, and live rejoicing every day
Hallelujah!
Happy day, O happy day, when Jesus washed my sins away.

’Tis done: the great transaction’s done!
I am the Lord’s and He is mine;
He drew me, and I followed on;
Charmed to confess the voice divine.

Now rest, my long divided heart,
Fixed on this blissful centre, rest.
Nor ever from my Lord depart,
With Him of every good possessed.

High heaven, that heard the solemn vow,
That vow renewed shall daily hear,
Till in life’s latest hour I bow
And bless in death a bond so dear.

Philip Doddridge and Edward F. Rimbault

 

Leave a Reply

