The Weekly Hymn

Last Sunday we had a Family Service with songs and hymns that were “child – friendly”. Choosing such songs is not always straightforward, but that’s the subject of a future post….

One of the hymns that we sang was “I am so glad that my Father in heaven.” The refrain is a reminder that we are loved by God through Jesus:

 

I am so glad that my Father in Heaven

Tells of his love in the book he has given;

Wonderful things in the Bible I see,

This is the dearest that Jesus loves me.

 

    I am so glad that Jesus loves me,

   Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me.

    I am so glad that Jesus loves me,

   Jesus loves even me.

 

Though I forget him, and wander away,

Still he doth love me wherever I stray;

Back to his dear loving arms do I flee,

When I remember that Jesus loves me.

 

Oh if there’s only one song I can sing,

When in his beauty I see the great King,

This shall my song through eternity be,

“Oh what a wonder that Jesus loves me!”

 

Philip P. Bliss

Leave a Reply

