The Weekly Hymn

Many hymns were written from the life experiences of their writers. One such well known example is “When peace like a river”. This was written by H.G. Spafford in the 19th century. His wife and children were on a boat which was involved in an accident, and tragically the children were all drowned, just his wife was saved.
It was in the middle of such tragedy and personal sadness for Mr Spafford that he wrote these inspiring words. They have become a source of comfort and hope to many who have had such tragedies in their own lives.

When peace like a river attends all my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll.
Whatever my lot you have taught me to say
“It is well it is well with my soul.”

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come
Let this blest assurance control.
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate
And has shed his own blood for my soul.

My sin – O the bliss of this glorious thought –
My sin not in part but the whole
Is nailed to his cross and I bear it no more
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord O my soul!

For me be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live
If Jordan above me shall roll.
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
You will whisper your peace to my soul.

But Lord, it’s for you, for your coming we wait
The sky not the grave is our goal!
O trump of the angel, O voice of the Lord
Blessed hope, blessed rest for my soul!

H.G. Spafford

Leave a Reply

