O – Obedience

Obedience may sound like a harsh word. It may give the impression of somebody being ordered to do something against their will, and their reluctantly carrying it out.

And yet it is a Biblical term, there are many references in both Old and New Testaments to commands to obedience. Jesus himself said these words to his disciples:

“If you love me, you will obey what I command.” John 14: 15 (NIV).

Jesus did not intend for the obedience to become a burden, he says if you LOVE me, you will obey. It is in the context of a loving relationship between his disciples and him. In any relationship, if you really love someone, you will go out of your way to please them. Here, Jesus is saying that as his disciples have that loving relationship with him, they will want to please him, do what he says.

Jesus himself set the perfect example. He is in perfect, loving relationship with his Father. He was completely obedient to him while he was on this earth – even to the point of death. It is wrong to think that Jesus was somehow forced against his will to go to the cross to take sin’s punishment. He willingly went in loving obedience to his Father.

For us today, as Christians, as an expression of that loving relationship with God, we too will want to please and obey him.

6 thoughts on “O – Obedience

  1. For me my faith keeps me focused on my creator, Father, and friend and creates a heart to obey Him! The more I learn who I am in Christ the more I want to learn about Him and grow closer. I can never get enough!

    Like

Leave a Reply

