Preaching, Teaching and #TXS2!

I have decided to include, as part of this Blog, some of the activities that I do during the week. So here goes:

2 Sundays ago, I was part of a group of about 140 people recording a charity Christmas single. It was the organised by Brenda Drumm, who did a similar thing last year. She contacted people through Twitter – the project was given the title “Twitter Christmas Single” #txs2. We all got together in a room at the Westin Hotel in Dublin and under the musical direction of Ian Calanan learned and sung this song. I am not going to give any more details at the moment, just look out for it when it is released on 9th December. One interesting thing was that we were not split into traditional parts (soprano, alto, tenor, bass), but everyone sung every harmony together (in different octaves at times!), with each “layer” recorded one at a time. When the whole thing is put together, the impression will be of a choir of over 600! Anyway, it was great to be part of that, proceeds going to a very worthwhile charity, Console.

The week was spent teaching as usual, mostly in Dublin. I am beginning to introduce Christmas songs to the students now (I know….. I usually don’t want to start thinking about Christmas until 1st December!). However, if we start now, the pupils will have enough time to practice so that by Christmas they will be able to delight everyone with a rendition (or several!) of Jingle Bells!

On Sunday morning just gone, I played the piano in church. I still enjoy doing that on some of the Sundays when I’m not preaching.

On the Sunday evening, I was speaking at a small Gospel meeting in Baltinglass. (I played AND preached there!) I spoke from 1 Kings 18 on Elijah at Mount Carmel. The challenge there is very relevant to us today: “…If the Lord is God follow him; but if Baal is God, follow him.” (1 Kings 18: 21 NIV). We are living in a society where, by and large, people do not follow the Living God, but worship their own versions of Baal. We, as Christians, need to follow the Lord wholeheartedly. The challenge was also for those not yet Christians to follow him for the first time. The sacrifice offered on Carmel points forward to Christ, the perfect sacrifice. It is because of him that we are able to follow the Living God. 

As I write this, I am looking at a spectacular view, over the city of Dublin, out to the Irish Sea. I am at the weekly Writers’ Cafe at Carousel Creates. Each Wednesday between 8.30 am and 1.30 pm, there is the opportunity just to come and have some peace and quiet to write. Coffee and cake is provided, it’s wonderful!

This evening I will be taking Annmarie to Spirit Radio. She is part of a discussion programme.

All good stuff!

Leave a Reply

