The Monday Hymn

I’m sure I have said before that a new tune can give an older hymn a new lease of life. That is certainly true Before the Throne of God Above, which was written in the 19th Century. The melody, written by Vikki Cook, suits the words perfectly.

This is a hymn of confidence; the Lord Jesus Christ is in Heaven taking the prayers of his people and presenting them to his Father. Because it is HE who is in that position we can know that our prayers will be heard and answered, whatever Satan may say! Thank God for the truth of these words:

Before the throne of God above
I have a strong and perfect plea:
A great High Priest, whose name is Love,
Who ever lives and pleads for me.
My name is graven on His hands,
My name is written on His heart;
I know that while in heaven He stands
No tongue can bid me thence depart
No tongue can bid me thence depart.

When Satan tempts me to despair,
And tells me of the guilt within,
Upward I look, and see Him there
Who made an end to all my sin.
Because the sinless Saviour died,
My sinful soul is counted free;
For God the just is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me
To look on Him and pardon me

Behold Him there, the Risen Lamb
My perfect, spotless righteousness,
The great unchangeable I am,
The King of glory and of grace!
One with Himself I cannot die
My soul is purchased by His blood
My life is hid with Christ on high,
With Christ, my Saviour and my God
With Christ, my Saviour and my God

Charitie Lees Bancroft

One thought on “The Monday Hymn

Leave a Reply

