The Monday Hymn

Yes, it’s back! The Monday hymn is here. This is where I choose a hymn that we have sung the previous day in church, and share it with you.

“There is a hope” by Stuart Townend is a great song expressing confidence in the Lord. Essentially, the theme is that whatever trials come, whatever we may be going through we can hope in the Lord. This is clearly a future hope, but there is a present element to it. We can look forward to that future, but the safety that is to be found in the Lord is for now as well, we are secure now! That, of course, does not minimise the pain of present trials, but we can look forward to the day “When sufferings cease and sorrows die,and every longing satisfied,then joy unspeakable will flood my soul,For I am truly home.”

There is a hope that burns within my heart,
That gives me strength for ev’ry passing day;
a glimpse of glory now revealed in meager part,
Yet drives all doubt away:
I stand in Christ, with sins forgiv’n;
and Christ in me, the hope of heav’n!
My highest calling and my deepest joy,
to make His will my home.

There is a hope that lifts my weary head,
A consolation strong against despair,
That when the world has plunged me in its deepest pit,
I find the Savior there!
Through present sufferings, future’s fear,
He whispers, “Courage!” in my ear.
For I am safe in everlasting arms,
And they will lead me home.

There is a hope that stands the test of time,
That lifts my eyes beyond the beckoning grave,
To see the matchless beauty of a day divine
When I behold His face!
When sufferings cease and sorrows die,
and every longing satisfied,
then joy unspeakable will flood my soul,
For I am truly home.

Stuart Townend

Leave a Reply

