Monday Morning Hymn

I have decided to do a regular Monday morning Blog. My intention is to choose a hymn or song that has particularly blessed/spoken to/encouraged/challenged me in church on the previous day and share a couple of verses of it.

The sung praise of God is extremely powerful – he delights in the praises of his people, just think how many Psalms of praise there are. Well written hymns and songs can teach us the great truths of our faith as well as remind us of how we are to live as his people. Hopefully I will be able to demonstrate that on coming Mondays.

The hymn that I have chosen from yesterday is O Jesus I have promised. Now I have sung that many, many times before, going right back to when I was in school. I was particularly struck by the words in verse 3:

O speak to reassure me,
To hasten or control;
O speak, and make me listen,
O Guardian of my soul.

The prayer is that God would speak that I would listen, to reassure if necessary, to move into action, or control; that he would be in charge of what happens in my life. That fits so well with my last couple of Blogs. And the encouragement is that it is in the context of God being my protector “the guardian of my soul.” His being in charge is acknowledging his looking after me.

O Jesus, I have promised
To serve you to the end;
Be now and ever near me,
My Master and my Friend;
I shall not fear the battle
If you are by my side,
Nor wander from the pathway
If you will be my Guide

O let me hear you speaking
In accents clear and still,
Above the storms of passion,
The murmurs of self will.
O speak to reassure me,
To hasten or control;
O speak, and make me listen,
O Guardian of my soul

John E. Bode

Leave a Reply

